Our Practice

Our Practice

8 Limbs of Yoga

(Quoted from The Eight Limbs, The Core of Yoga)

–The core of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra is an eight-limbed path that forms the structural framework for yoga practice. Upon practicing all eight limbs of the path it becomes self-evident that no one element is elevated over another in a hierarchical order. Each is part of a holistic focus which eventually brings completeness to the individual as they find their connectivity to the divine. Because we are all uniquely individual a person can emphasize one branch and then move on to another as they round out their understanding. In brief the eight limbs, or steps to yoga, are as follows:

Yama: Universal morality
Ahimsa – Compassion for all living things
Satya – Commitment to Truthfulness
Asteya – Non-stealing
Brahmacharya – Sense-control
Aparigraha – Neutralizing the desire to acquire and hoard wealth

Niyama: Personal observances
Sauca – Purity
Santosa – Contentment
Tapas – Disciplined use of our energy
Svadhyaya – Self study
Isvarapranidhana – Celebration of the Spiritual

Asanas: Body postures (yoga poses)

Pranayama: Breathing exercises, and control of prana

Pratyahara: Control of the senses

Dharana: Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness

Dhyana: Devotion, Meditation on the Divine

Samadhi: Union with the Divine

To read more, visit their website http://www.expressionsofspirit.com/yoga/eight-limbs.htm

5 Points of Yoga

(Quotated from International Sivananda Yoga Vedanta)

Proper Exercise (Asanas)
Yoga poses help develop a strong, healthy body by enhancing flexibility and improving circulation.

Proper Breathing (Pranayama)
Deep, conscious breathing reduces stress and many diseases.

Proper Relaxation
Helps keep the body from going into overload mode, easing worry and fatigue.

Proper Diet
Eating simple, healthy and vegetarian foods that are easy to digest notably have a positive effect on the mind and body, as well as the environment and other living beings.

Positive Thinking (Vedanta) and Meditation (Dhyana)
These are the true keys to achieving peace of mindand eliminating negativity in our lives.

To read more, visit their website http://www.sivananda.org/teachings/

4 Paths of Yoga

Karma Yoga
Also known as the yoga of action.

Bhakti Yoga
Also known as the path of devotion.

Raja Yoga
Also known as the Science of the mind.

Jnana Yoga
Also known as the yoga of knowledge.

To read more, visit their website http://www.sivananda.org/teachings/